Skip to content

83rd Annual Academy Awards Winners: Best Dressed

February 28, 2011

There seemed to be a few trends on the red carpet of the Academy Awards last night;

Ladies in Red

 

Jennifer Hudson, Anne Hathaway, Sandra Bullock, Jennifer Lawrence and Penelope Cruz (celebuzz.com)

 

Nude at the Oscars

Halle Berry and Hailee Steinfeld (mtv.com)

Lavender also seemed to make quite a showing at the red carpet as well (see below).

I may not be Joan Rivers, but I am going to provide my opinion for the dresses at the Oscars last night…

I absolutely LOVED Mila Kunis’ lavender Elie Saab dress, the lace detail, the sparkling earrings and the loose bun, AMAZING.  She knocked it out of the park and would be my choice of best dressed for the night.

 

Scarlett, Scarlett, Scarlett!  Although I hate to say this, because I think she is soooo beautiful in anything she wears, Miss. Johansson’s ensemble was not cutting it for me this awards show.  Her hair was cut too short in the back and was too messy and her dress was, for lack of a better term, blah.  Too much lingerie look, too little elegance.

 

peachesandblush.com

Gwyneth Paltrow looked like an Oscar herself in this gorgeous Calvin Kline dress.  Although her performance may have been a bit off key, her dress was spot on.

starandstyle.com/

Oh boy…where to begin with Cate Blanchett’s Givenchy by Riccardo Tisci dress.  Although I do love the color…what is going on with the beading?  It looks like my great-grandmother’s throw pillow, yuck.  Nice idea, poor execution.

 

And now to leave this post off on a high note…

 

trendmixer.com

I was sitting on my roommate’s boyfriend’s couch last night, watching the Oscars when all of a sudden the above walks onto the red carpet.  I think simultaneously, all of our jaws dropped, and all we could say was “WOW Jennifer Hudson looks great!”  Although I would have preferred a little less cleavage…she lost so much weight and this dress hugs all the right curves.  Way to go, Jennifer!

 

Who is wearing your favorite Oscars Dress?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 5:19 pm

    I loved Mila Kunis’ dress! I also will say Hailee Steinfeld looked so pretty as well, and in good taste for a 14 year old.

  2. March 13, 2011 9:06 pm

    Jennifer Hudson really does look incredible. That colour on her skintone is just perfect.

    As for Scarlet… nice colour but what a tacky dress overall!

Leave a Reply

